The first community credit union honored for its charitable contributions

The Dakota Credit Union Association (DakCU) has announced the 2021 recipients of the state-level Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Awards. These prestigious awards recognize credit unions who have excelled in community relations and who are engaged in ongoing charitable programs within their communities.

The Dakotas’ nominations were judged by an awards committee made up of eight judges from the Minnesota Credit Union Network. Each credit union will be recognized with an engraved award plaque at the 2022 annual summit in Rapid City, South Dakota.

First place winners will qualify for national judgment from the Credit Union National Association, as well as credit unions across the country in their same asset class.

Among the winners was the First Community Credit Union of Jamestown, in the over $ 1 billion asset category.

The Dora Maxwell Award is named in honor of the pioneer of credit unions who worked to improve the standard of living of underserved people. She has held many volunteer positions locally and nationally in addition to organizing hundreds of credit unions and worked with many organizations on behalf of the poor. Credit unions can receive the award for their involvement in almost any type of activity that helps other people or strengthens the structure of a community. This may include fundraising for charities, educational activities, or community engagement projects.

Newsletter subscription for email alerts

The Dakota Credit Union Association is the financial trade association serving 71 credit unions employing 2,200 people in 221 branches.

Previous Hidden Costs Of Credit Score Applications Credit Karma, Credit Sésame
Next How To Increase Your Credit Score Overnight • Benzinga